Illinois State Genealogical Society
The Illinois State Genealogical Society (ISGS) was formed in 1968 through the cooperative effort and forward thinking of Illinois genealogical society representatives, who envisioned a statewide genealogical organization. ISGS is a not-for-profit, nonsectarian, educational organization.
ISGS was established for the following purposes:
  • To stimulate an interest in the people who contributed to the establishment and development of the State of Illinois.
  • To seek, preserve and make available data pertaining to individuals, families and groups who lived in Illinois, and to events which took place therein.
  • To inform people about the value of, and the need for, preserving family and local history for posterity.
  • To encourage and support local and regional genealogical societies.
Governing Board
The ISGS Governing Board consists of the Executive Committee (elected officers, directors, and the immediate past president) and the appointed chairs of the Standing Committees – all with voting rights.
Ex-officio non-voting members of the ISGS Governing Board are:  the ISGS Office Secretary, the Secretary of State or his representative, the Director of the Illinois State Archives or his representative, members of the Illinois State Archives Advisory Board, a representative of the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library, and the representatives to/from other organizations.
The non-voting chairs of projects and other committees may be requested by the ISGS President to give committee reports at a quarterly meeting of the Governing Board.

President: Laura Kovarik
1st Vice President: David McDonald
2nd Vice President: Barbara McKean
Recording Secretary: Caron Primas Brennan
Treasurer: Jackie LaRue Lyell
2018 Director: Tony Burroughs
2018 Director: Susan Scoville Pope
2018 Director: Rick Shields
2019 Director: Janice Conkrite
2019 Director: David Kent Coy
2019 Director: Margaret Truax
2020 Director: Tina Beaird
2020 Director: Linda Polich
2020 Director: Jenny Warner
Immediate Past President
Immediate Past President: Dawn Carey Henry
Standing Committees
Advocacy - Chair: Allen Nemec
Conference - Co-Chair: Dawn Carey Henry
Conference - Co-Chair: Rick Shields
Education - Chair: Laura Kovarik
Illinois Soc Liaison - Chair: Caron Primas Brennan
Marketing & Publicity - Chair: Vacant
Membership - Chair: Mary Westerhold
Publications - Chair: Sharon Reif
Website - Chair: Vacant
Ex Officio Representatives
Abraham Lincoln Pres Library: Angela Stille
Federation of Genealogical Soc: Dawn Carey Henry
Illinois State Archives: David Joens
IS Regional Archive Depository: Karl Moore
Illinois State Hist Society: William Furry
Illinois Secretary of State: David Joens
Spc. Committees, Chairs, etc.
Advertising Chair: Vacant
Cemetery Records Chair: John Heider
Church Records Chair: Jan Conkrite
Family Bible Records Chair: Jan Conkrite
Genealogy Chair: Dawn Carey Henry
IL Bicentennial Co-Chair: Laura Kovarik
IL Bicentennial Co-Chair: Rick Shields
Indexing Coordinator: Vacant
ISGS 50th Anniv Co-Chair: David Kent Coy
ISGS 50th Anniv Co-Chair: Joy Upton
Military Certificates Chair: Charles Dobias
Newsletter Editor: Susan McQuaid
Office Liaison: Barbara McKean
Prairie Pioneer Chair: Jenny Warner
Social Media Manager: Jaymie Middendorf
Quarterly Editor: Terry Feinberg
Webinar Chair: Anita Boyd
Website Manager: Karen Feeney
Ad Hoc Committees & Chairs
Audit: Vacant
Bylaws, Policy/Proced. Manual: David McDonald
Honors & Awards: Susan Scoville Pope
Long Rang Planning: Vacant